A solution or sympathy…

Psalm 110

1¶A Psalm of David.
The LORD says to my Lord:
‘Sit at My right hand
Until I make Your enemies a footstool for Your feet.’
2The LORD will stretch forth Your strong scepter from Zion, saying,
‘Rule in the midst of Your enemies.’
3Your people will volunteer freely in the day of Your power;
In holy array, from the womb of the dawn,
Your youth are to You as the dew.
4¶The LORD has sworn and will not change His mind,
‘You are a priest forever
According to the order of Melchizedek.’
5The Lord is at Your right hand;
He will shatter kings in the day of His wrath.
6He will judge among the nations,
He will fill them with corpses,
He will shatter the chief men over a broad country.
7He will drink from the brook by the wayside;
Therefore He will lift up His head.”

As I awoke this morning and took the dog out, I was gripped by the notion to read the Scriptures. Okay, that’s a good feeling but as I opened the Word I realized, or rather had it impressed upon me, was I looking for a solution or a Person this morning? And here’s what I mean.

Most mornings, I get up, grab a cup of joe, hit the shower, and then read the Word. Now quite honestly, if my mind is foggy, I am liable to miss one or more of those steps. But more importantly, if I miss the most important, my day for me could be disastrous! That is because in the normal course of the day, I have structured it such that my mental well-being hinges on putting into practice the high ideals from the Word of God.

This morning was no different as I reread Psalm 110 from yesterday. Specifically verse 3 which says “Your people will volunteer freely in the day of Your power;”

I knew this to be a Messianic Psalm speaking of the Messiah Jesus when He comes to setup His kingdom on earth. What I did not know however was just how impactful this new eternal regime change could be on my day to day.

Just imagine a time in the not too distant future where man and beast alike will totally and completely fall in awe of the majesty and brilliance of the King of kings. Imagine a time where all creation that loves Jesus will humbly and freely volunteer to rejoice and act on account of the commands of the King!

Today, there are many miscreants doling our their power over their people with an iron fist. Yet one day they will pass away. One day their regime will fall. But His regime, based on the intimate knowledge of each of us to our core, will abide and continue. It is a terrifying thing for those who do not know Him and an exceedingly joyful notion for those that do!

So having realized that “one day” could be “to-day” I resign my sinful flesh to do the work that is set before me. As Peter says in 1 Peter 2:17 NASB — “Honor all people, love the brotherhood, fear God, honor the king.”

So to wrap it up, I will…

Honor all people

Love the brotherhood

Fear God

Honor the king.

But I will do so voluntarily as Psalm 110 implies out of love and not compulsion. I will do so out of the abundance that He has loved me with. And I will rejoice for His kingdom is here, it will never diminish, and it will never end. Blessings as you go!

Leave a comment